About Us

What is the BGIPU

The British Group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union (BGIPU) aims to serve Britain’s interest through advancing the Parliamentary dimension of Britain’s foreign relations.

What we do

Through its programme of activities, the BGIPU seeks to engage UK Parliamentarians in key global issues. The BGIPU works to expand awareness and understanding of foreign relations and the contribution to be made by the UK Parliament to consolidate parliamentary democracy worldwide.

Who we are

The BGIPU's membership comprises all members of both Houses of the UK Parliament from all parties and the cross-benches. The Group is led by a 26 member Executive Committee and administered by a Secretariat.  There are also around 200 Associate Members comprising former parliamentarians.


Sir William Randall Cremer MP, along with French Senator Frederic Passy, founded the Inter-Parliamentary Union in 1889. In 1903 the MP for Haggerston became the first British recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize for his role in establishing the IPU. Here you can read more about our visionary founder.


In its work, the BGIPU is governed by the Executive Committee led by the Chair, Vice-Chairs and Treasurer who are appointed annually by Members at the Annual General Meeting of the Group. 

BGIPU History

The Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) was founded in June 1889 at the instigation of two backbench MPs: Frederic Passy from France, and William Randal Cremer from Westminster.  The British Group was formally established in March that year and BGIPU have been actively involved in international relations since then...

IPU Geneva

"For democracy. For everyone." The IPU is a focal point for world-wide parliamentary dialogue and works for peace and co-operation among peoples and for the firm establishment of representative democracy.