Print Article

AGM elects Harriett Baldwin MP as BGIPU Chair

The Annual General Meeting of the British Group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union was convened on Wednesday 4 March in the IPU Room at the Palace of Westminster to adopt the 2019 Annual Report and elect the Executive Committee for 2020.  It was originally scheduled for November 2019 but was deferred due to the December 2019 General Election.

The AGM was presided over by the Speaker of the House of Commons, The Rt Hon Sir Lindsay Hoyle MP in his capacity as Honorary President of the Group. The Minister of State for Asia and International Development in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office/DFID, Nigel Adams MP, proposed adoption of the 2019 Annual Report which was seconded by the Shadow Minister for Peace and Disarmament, Fabian Hamilton MP prior to adoption by the AGM. Following a financial report from the Director (the Honorary Treasurer post was vacant) and agreement to re-appoint Kreston Reeves LLP as external auditors, a new Executive Committee for 2020 was elected including Harriett Baldwin MP as Chair.

The Speaker of the House of Commons also moved a vote of thanks in the outgoing Chair, Rt Hon John Whittingdale OBE MP, noting his achievements as Chair, particularly the very successful International Parliamentary Seminar on Media Freedom and various related events hosted in cooperation with the BBC, his leadership of successful delegations to the 140th IPU Assembly in Doha and the 141st Assembly in Belgrade and his role in key events marking the 130th Anniversary of the IPU.  Details of the new BGIPU Executive Committee for 2020 and the Annual Report for 2018 can be found on our Governance page.

BGIPU Secretariat