Print Article

Annual General Meeting elects 2016 Executive Committee

The Annual General Meeting of the British Group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union was convened on Wednesday 13 January 2016 in the IPU Room at the Palace of Westminster to adopt the 2015 Annual Report and elect the Executive Committee for 2016.  It was presided over by the Speaker of the House of Commons, The Rt Hon John Bercow MP, in his capacity as Honorary President of the Group.

The UK’s IPU Executive Committee member, Ian Liddell-Grainger MP proposed adoption of the 2015 Annual Report which was seconded by Stephen Twigg MP, Chair of the International Development Committee.  Following a financial report from the Honorary Treasurer, Fabian Hamilton MP, the re-elected Chair, Nigel Evans MP highlighted planned activities for 2016 and called for all UK members to play an active part in the inter-parliamentary work of the group.  The BGIPU Executive Committee for 2016 is listed here and the Annual Report for 2015 is available for download.