Print Article

Annual General Meeting elects 2016/17 Executive Committee

The Annual General Meeting of the British Group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union was convened on Wednesday 7 December 2016 in the IPU Room at the Palace of Westminster to adopt the 2016 Annual Report and elect the Executive Committee for 2016/17.

The AGM was presided over by the Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Ways and Means in the House of Commons, The Rt Hon Lindsay Hoyle MP, standing in for the Speaker of the House of Commons who is Honorary President of the Group. The Minister for Europe and the Americas in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Rt Hon Sir Alan Duncan MP, proposed adoption of the 2016 Annual Report which was seconded by Liz McInnes MP, Shadow Deputy Foreign Secretary.

Following a financial report from the outgoing Honorary Treasurer, Fabian Hamilton MP, the BGIPU’s re-elected Chair, Nigel Evans MP spoke about the Group’s planned programme for 2017 and highlighted the vital nature of BGIPU’s work in building relations with counterparts overseas, made even more important at a time when we are seeking to develop new relations and opportunities following the UK’s decision to leave the EU. Details of the new BGIPU Executive Committee for 2016/17 and the Annual Report for 2016 can be found on our Governance page.