Print Article

Annual General Meeting elects 2017-18 Executive Committee

The Annual General Meeting of the British Group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union was convened on Wednesday 6 December 2017 in the IPU Room at the Palace of Westminster to adopt the 2017 Annual Report and elect the Executive Committee for 2017/18.

The AGM was presided over by the Speaker aof the House of Commons, The Rt Hon John Bercow MP in his capacity as Honorary President of the Group. The Minister for Africa in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office/Department for Internation al Development, Rory Stewart MP, proposed adoption of the 2017 Annual Report which was seconded by Rt Hon Emily Thornberry MP, in her capacity as Shadow Foreign Secretary.

Following a financial report from the Honorary Treasurer, Nic Dakin MP, the BGIPU’s re-elected Chair, Nigel Evans MP spoke about the Group’s planned programme for 2018 and highlighted the vital nature of BGIPU’s work in building relations with counterparts abroad.  Details of the new BGIPU Executive Committee for 2017/18 and the Annual Report for 2017 can be found on our Governance page.