Print Article

BGIPU Annual General Meeting adopts 2014 Annual Report

The ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the British Group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, presided over by the Speaker of the House of Commons, The Rt Hon John Bercow MP, Honorary President of the Group, was held on Wednesday 3 December 2014 where BGIPU members adopted the 2014 Annual Report and elected the Executive Committee for 2014/15.  Further details can be found on the BGIPU’s Governance Page.

Following speeches in support of the 2014 Annual Report by the Minister of State for the FCO, The Rt Hon Hugo Swire MP, the Shadow Minister for the FCO, Ms Kerry McCarthy MP, and a financial report by the Treasurer, Fabian Hamilton MP, the BGIPU Chair, The Rt Hon Alistair Burt MP offered his thanks to key stakeholders and spoke of a busy programme of activities delivered by the Group in 2014.

The BGIPU Chair highlighted that BGIPU had received delegations to the UK Parliament from five parliaments, Uruguay, Portugal, Sudan, Armenia and Romania and visited nine countries, Armenia, Poland, Haiti, Georgia, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, Norway, Guatemala and Honduras. He also noted the contribution of UK delegations to recent IPU Assemblies, including key multilateral resolutions and bilateral exchanges, and in the context of other inter-parliamentary meetings, including the Parliamentary Seminar on the Arms Trade Treaty which BGIPU hosted in November.